Always Learning
Always Learning

BTEC Higher Nationals from 2010 | Computing and Systems Development
The Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals in Computing and Systems Development are accredited on the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) for first teaching from September 2010. The final accredited specification and units can be accessed below.

Vendor certifications can be an important part of the BTEC Firsts and Nationals in IT, as well as the Higher Nationals in Computing and Systems Development. They are provided by major technology vendors and trade associations such as Microsoft, Cisco, VMWare, CompTIA, Oracle and Linux Professional Institute. Find out more about vendor certifications.

If you want to add optional units to a BTEC First/National/Higher National QCF qualification to Meet Local Needs (MLN), download and submit the application form.
To learn more about using Meeting Local Needs units in your BTEC First/National/Higher National course (QCF), download the MLN guidelines.

Important information about Centre Devised Units in Higher Nationals download the CDU guidance



Further details

expand Qualification titles covered
BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma in Computing and Systems Development (QCF)
BTEC Level 5 HND Diploma in Computing and Systems Development (QCF)





Delivery Guide


Level 3 Vendor Units


Level 4 and 5 Vendor Units


Sample assignments


Study Skills Guide



Download our new BTEC Higher Nationals brochure

BTEC in Higher Education

11 October 2013
We’re pleased to announce more support than ever before for BTEC Higher Nationals.

Sign up for email alerts using your Edexcel Online account details and you’ll receive an email whenever new documents or notices are added to this page – ensuring you don’t miss any vital updates.