Always Learning
Always Learning
BTEC Higher Nationals from 2010

Try our new Pearson qualifications website

BTEC Higher Nationals

Higher Education is evolving

Due to the recent changes in funding, and the increasingly competitive jobs market, more learners are seeking to maximise the value of their Higher Education qualifications.

BTEC Higher Nationals provide specialist vocational learning at Levels 4 and 5, reflecting the requirements of professional organisations and meeting the National Occupational Standards for each sector or industry.

The qualifications are delivered at universities and colleges and provide an excellent choice for Further Education providers looking to broaden their vocational offering to meet the demands of learners seeking a cost-effective, vocational pathway to Higher Education.

They are also the natural next step for learners who have gained level 3 qualifications (including BTEC Nationals) and want to progress to Higher Education along a more technical route.


‭(Hidden)‬ Content Editor Web Part

 New HNCs at Level 4 and HNDs at Level 5

  • BTEC Higher Nationals are moving on to the QCF. We are determined to provide continuity for our centres.
  • The specifications will be updated where necessary to ensure that they remain relevant.
  • The move on to the QCF will guarantee continued funding.

Sign up for email alerts using your Edexcel Online account details and you’ll receive an email whenever new documents or notices are added to this page – ensuring you don’t miss any vital updates.