Always Learning
Always Learning

Entry Level Certificate | Science

Entry Level Certificate from 2013

A revised Entry Level Certificate in Science has just been accredited by Ofqual, for first teaching from September 2013. The revised specification and sample assessment materials will appear on the Entry Level Certificate page for Science by the end of February 2013.
About the course
Entry Level is recognised as the first level of the National Qualifications Framework. The content of the units maps directly to the Edexcel GCSE Science qualification, to facilitate co-teaching. It’s designed to be taught in small steps to meet students’ individual learning styles and each unit is only assessed when the teacher decides that students are ready.
What’s changed?

  • It's based on the content of the new GCSE Science 2011
  • It has fewer units - nine instead of 12
  • It no longer has the practical skills assessment
  • The assignments have a more practical focus and their marks have been increased from 15 to 20
  • A maximum of six unit tests and three assignments can be submitted (that is, a total of 150 marks)
  • You cannot submit both the unit test and assignment from the same unit.

What’s staying the same?

  • Assessment is still through unit tests and assignments
  • The style of written assessments remains the same; tests can be taken when you like, are marked in school and are externally moderated
  • Unit tests are still 15 marks.

This is based on two components:

  • Up to six unit tests (60%), internally marked, externally set and moderated
  • Up to three assignments (40%), internally marked, externally set and moderated.


Sign up for email alerts using your Edexcel Online account details and you’ll receive an email whenever new documents or notices are added to this page – ensuring you don’t miss any vital updates.